Destiny scores are scores that change the fortunes of the characters. Destiny scores are metagame scores give the character a chance on their terms to alter their destiny and defy the Sisters.

Throughout the play of the game, you are awarded three different kinds of Points: Inspiration Points, Hero Points, and Milestone Points. Experience Points (XP) may also be awarded, but are optipnal.

Inspiration (Ins)

You start the game with 1 point of inspiration.

Inspiration is a reward for playing your character in a way that is true to their personality: background, traits, values, ideals, bonds, flaws, likes, dislikes and related. They are the Role-Playing reward system of the game.

By using inspiration, you can draw on your personality trait of compassion for the downtrodden to give you an edge in negotiating with the Beggar Prince. Or inspiration can let you call on your bond to the defense of your home village to push past the effect of a spell that has been laid on you.

You can have up to a total of 20 Inspiration points at any given time.

Gaining Inspiration

Typically, DMs award it when you play out your personality traits and values, give in to the drawbacks presented by a flaw or bond, and otherwise portray your character in a compelling way.

You also gain 1 point of inspiration every time you achieve a new level of Mastery. Some characters gain additional inspiration in different ways.

Using Inspiration

If you have inspiration, you can expend one point when you make an attack roll, saving throw, or ability check. Spending your inspiration gives you Advantage on that roll. It can be done after the roll, but before it takes effect.

Additionally, if you have inspiration, you can reward another player for good roleplaying, clever thinking, or simply doing something exciting in the game.

When another player character does something that really contributes to the story in a fun and interesting way, you can give 1 point of inspiration to that character.

Hero Points

Your character starts with no Hero points. Hero Points are the reward for doing something genuinely heroic. You can have a maximum of 20 Hero Points at a time.

Gaining Hero Points

You earn hero points for doing something notably heroic. Each time you increase a degree of mastery, you will gain 1 point.

At the end of each session, the players can all award 1 hero point to a member of the party. Some creatures will earn you a hero point simply facing them down, and in some cases, you will gain a hero point for doing something heroic but not using inspiration or Hero points to alter the roll.

Using Hero Points

Hero points are spent by you to perform heroic actions or recover from very unheroic ones. Any time you make an attack roll, ability check, or saving throw, you can spend a hero point before the results are applied. Spending a hero point allows you to roll a 1d6 and add it to the d20 roll.

You can only spend one Hero point per die roll.

You can also spend one Hero Point whenever you fail a death saving roll.

Milestone Points

Milestone points are points awarded to your character for completing some element of a storyline or advancing the game. You can have a maximum of 36 Milestone points at any one time.

Milestone points are the expected way by which you will advance your character. Experience points are still available for those DMs who prefer them, but Milestone Points the anticipated format.

Wyrlde is an open World concept at its core. While there are stories to be found, much of it is expected to operate according to the decisions of the players in the same way that a story operates according to the dictates of the main character.

Gaining Milestone Points

You gain 1 Milestone point at the end of each game session as long as you participate.

However, for some games, there will be a particular story that is going to be involved. The default campaign for Wyrlde is such a story. When the party tugs on some “thread” of the storyline, they may get a milestone point.

Using Milestone Points

You can spend 1 milestone point to re-roll a failed roll with advantage.

Milestone points have the primary role of being spent to increase your character’s level.

Each level has a set cost in Milestone Points that must be spent to achieve that level (this is why it costs nothing to be level 1). To achieve that next level, you spend your collected Milestone points.

You can only spend as many Milestone points as needed to advance to the next level. After that, you must go out and adventure, as you have to learn the abilities of your character before you can spend points to move to the next level. Therefore, you cannot save up your milestone points and then buy your way past two or more levels – it is always one level at a time.

Experience Points

Experience Points are provided for those who choose to use them. The higher the level, the more experience is needed to reach the next level. Experience points cannot be spent to alter dice rolls.

Bluntly, they remain in the game because of their value in determining Challenge Ratings.

Spread the Word: